فهم سرقة الوقت والقوانين التي يجب البحث عنها

ما هو «سرقة الوقت»؟

what is time theft 1602806721 4072

غالبًا ما تسمى سرقة الوقت بالاحتيال على بطاقة الوقت أو الاحتيال في الوقت والحضور. يحدث ذلك عندما يتقاضى الموظف أجرًا مقابل العمل ولم يعمل بالفعل خلال ذلك الوقت. إنه يضر عملك بعدة طرق. بالإضافة إلى تقليل إنتاجية موظفيك، يمكن لعملك أن يخسر المال أيضًا.


في حالة رغبتك في إجراء أبحاثك الخاصة المتعلقة بقوانين سرقة الوقت، من المهم ملاحظة أن هذه القوانين لا يشار إليها بقوانين سرقة الوقت. إنها قسم فرعي من القوانين الجنائية التي تندرج تحت القانون الجنائي بطريقة ما. ستتعلم المزيد عن ذلك في القسم التالي.

يمكن أن تحدث سرقة الوقت بعدة طرق. قبل الوباء، كانت إحدى الطرق الأكثر شيوعًا لحدوث ذلك من خلال التلاعب بالجداول الزمنية أو بطاقات الوقت أو إدخالات الوقت.

هذا يمثل مشكلة خاصة عندما لا يحتاج الموظفون إلى طلب موافقة المشرف أو المساعدة لإضافة وقتهم الخاص أو تصحيح وقتهم الخاص. اللكم الأصدقاء هو تقنية أخرى شائعة لسرقة الوقت. يحدث ذلك عندما يقوم أحد الموظفين بالساعات لأنفسهم وكذلك لموظف آخر لم يصل بعد.

هذا يكلف أموال شركتك عن طريق الدفع لموظف لا يعمل بالفعل. قد يميل العديد من الموظفين أو المقاولين، بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا بعيدين، إلى إساءة استخدام جدول زمني مرن. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا أكثر شيوعًا مع العمال عن بُعد نظرًا لوجود طريقة قليلة لمراقبة أنشطتهم.

ثم، بالطبع، هناك استخدام التكنولوجيا الشخصية خلال ساعات العمل لاستخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، والتحقق من البريد الإلكتروني، وتلقي المكالمات الهاتفية، وإرسال الرسائل النصية. نحن لا نشير إلى هذه الأنشطة التي تجري خلال فترة استراحة الموظف.

تعد التنشئة الاجتماعية وأوقات الاستراحة الممتدة وسيلتين أكثر شيوعًا لسرقة الوقت من قبل الموظفين. لسوء الحظ، هذه ليست سوى قائمة جزئية بالطرق التي يمكن أن تحدث بها سرقة الوقت.

إن مراقبة الطرق المختلفة التي يمكن أن تحدث بها سرقة الوقت من قبل الموظفين هي الطريقة الوحيدة لمعالجة الأمر. معالجة سرقة الوقت عند حدوثها هي أفضل طريقة لإيقافها. إن فهم مخاطر سرقة الوقت الأكثر شيوعًا التي تواجهها شركتك هو أفضل طريقة لمنعها.

على سبيل المثال، لمنع اللكم الأصدقاء، فإن وجود نظام تسجيل على مدار الساعة البيومترية سيمنع أحد الموظفين من تسجيل الوصول إلى آخر. للمساعدة في تقليل استخدام التكنولوجيا الشخصية خلال أوقات عدم التوقف، من الضروري إدخال وتنفيذ سياسات الجهاز بالإضافة إلى إدارة أكثر انتباهاً.

بالنسبة للموظفين الذين يقضون قدرًا كبيرًا من الوقت في التواصل الاجتماعي حول الأمور غير المتعلقة بالعمل، فإن مهمة الإدارة هي إعادة توجيه تدفق المحادثة إلى الأنشطة المتعلقة بالأعمال. كما أن مهمة الإدارة هي ضمان اتباع أوقات الاستراحة.

من الأفضل أن تكون صريحًا مع موظفيك بشأن سياسة الشركة المتعلقة باستخدام التكنولوجيا، وأوقات التوقف، وقياس الوقت للآخرين، والجدولة المرنة، والحاجة إلى الوفاء بالمواعيد النهائية وكيف تؤثر بشكل مباشر على وظائفهم بطريقة إيجابية.

إن مساعدة موظفيك على الشعور بأنهم جزء من الفريق هي أفضل طريقة لإبقاء سرقة الوقت تحت السيطرة بينما تقوم الإدارة بدورها.

قوانين سرقة الوقت للبحث عنها

time theft laws to look out for 1602806721 2676

عندما تكتشف حدوث ذلك في شركتك، غالبًا ما يترك المالكين يتساءلون عما يمكن فعله حيال ذلك. إذا أصبحت على دراية بموظف يضيع الكثير من الوقت في العمل، فيجب عليك أولاً أن تفهم أنه يكلف أموال عملك. هناك قوانين سارية لحماية الشركات، اعتمادًا على ما يحدث.


يُطلب من أصحاب العمل الدفع مقابل ساعات العمل من قبل الموظف. إذا لم يدفع صاحب العمل مقابل ساعات العمل، يمكن للموظف رفع دعوى ضد صاحب العمل مرتين من أجره الخلفي، بما في ذلك أتعاب المحاماة وتكاليف المحكمة.

بالتناوب، إذا تم دفع أجر الموظف لساعات لا يعمل، توجد قوانين جنائية تغطي سرقة الوقت التي قد تسمح لصاحب العمل باسترداد خسائره.

على سبيل المثال، عندما يكذب المقاول أو الموظف عمداً بشأن عمله، أو يختلس، أو يسرق، أو بيرلوين، أو يحول مع أو بدون سلطة، أو يبيع أو ينقل أو يتخلص من أي سجل أو قسيمة أو أي ممتلكات أخرى تملكها الشركة أو تم إجراؤها بموجب العقد، يجوز محاكمتهم بموجب القانون الجنائي.
ثم، هناك احتيال سلكي. الاحتيال عبر الأسلاك هو جريمة خطيرة تعرف على أنها مخطط أو محاولة الاحتيال على الممتلكات أو الحصول عليها بوسائل كاذبة أو احتيالية, تمثيلات, أو وعود باستخدام الأسلاك بين الولايات أو الاتصالات اللاسلكية تنفيذ المخطط.

كلا هذين القانونين (18 USC 641 و 18 USC 1343) هما قوانين اتحادية. ومع ذلك، فإن الدول لديها أيضًا قوانين جنائية يمكن استخدامها أيضًا. قد يواجه الموظفون الذين تثبت إدانتهم بسرقة الوقت غرامات، أو أمربس بسداد الأجور التي تلقوها أو يواجهون السجن اعتمادًا على القوانين في ولايتك.

إذا نظرت إلى تأثير سرقة الوقت على الأعمال التجارية، فإن الإحصائيات مدهشة. ذكرت الجمعية
الأمريكية لأصحاب العمل أن 20٪ من كل دولار يتم كسبه يفقد بسبب سرقة الموظفين في الولايات المتحدة.
أظهرت دراسات أخرى أن التكاليف التي تزيد عن 400 مليار دولار تضيع سنويًا في الإنتاجية. كل هذا يتم من قبل الموظفين الذين يسرقون حوالي 4.5 ساعة في الأسبوع من أرباب عملهم.

هذا أكثر من نصف يوم من الإنتاجية المفقودة. هذا يسلط الضوء على أهمية تقنيات الإدارة الأفضل التي تحتاج إلى تقليل سرقة الوقت من قبل الموظفين.

الخلاصة

تعد سرقة الوقت مشكلة خطيرة ومكلفة تواجهها الشركات في الولايات المتحدة-

  • تُعرف أيضًا باسم الاحتيال على بطاقة الوقت أو الاحتيال في الوقت والحضور, يمكن أن تشمل العديد من الأنشطة بما في ذلك استخدام التكنولوجيا الشخصية في وقت الشركة, اللكم الأصدقاء, أوقات استراحة ممتدة, وإساءة استخدام الجداول المرنة .

  • قوانين سرقة الوقت هي جزء من قوانيننا الجنائية.

  • تكلف سرقة الوقت إنتاجية الشركات والمال - ما يصل إلى 20٪ من كل دولار يتم صنعه.

Must-Read Content

جدولة عرض توضيحي

Understanding Time Theft and Laws to Look Out For

understanding time theft and laws to look out for

Are your employees stealing from you? Time theft laws exist, and they are meant to protect your business.

What is Time Theft?

what is time theft 1602806721 4072

Time theft is often called time card fraud or time and attendance fraud. It occurs when an employee is paid for work and they did not actually work during that time. It hurts your business in many ways. In addition to reducing the productivity of your employees, your business can actually lose money as well.


In the event that you want to do your own research related to time theft laws, it is important to note that these laws aren't referred to as time theft laws. They are a subsection of criminal laws that fall under the criminal code in some way. You'll learn more about that in the next section.

Time theft can occur in many ways. Prior to the pandemic, one of the most common ways it occurred was through the manipulation of their timesheets, time cards, or time entries.

This is especially problematic when employees do not need to request supervisor approval or assistance to add their own time or correct their own time. Buddy punching is another common time theft technique. It occurs when one employee clocks in for themselves as well as for another employee who has yet to arrive.

This costs your company money by paying for an employee who isn't actually working. Many employees or contractors, regardless of whether they are remote, may also be tempted to abuse a flexible schedule. However, this is more common with remote workers since there is little way to monitor their activities.

Then, of course, there is the use of personal technology during work hours to use social media, check email, take phone calls, and send text messages. We aren't referring to these activities taking place during the employee's break time.

Socializing and extended break times are two more common means of time theft by employees. Unfortunately, this is only a partial list of the ways that time theft can occur.

Keeping an eye out for the various ways that time theft by employees can occur is the only way to address the matter. Addressing time theft when it occurs is the best way to stop it. Understanding the most common time theft risks that your company faces is the best way to prevent it.

For example, to prevent buddy punching, having a biometric clock-in system will prevent one employee from clocking in for another. To help reduce the use of personal technology during non-break times, introducing and enforcing device policies as well as more attentive management is necessary.

For employees who spend an overt amount of time socializing about non-work related matters, it is the job of management to redirect the flow of the conversation to business-related activities. It is also the job of management to ensure that break times are followed.

It is best to be upfront with your employees about the company's policy related to technology use, break times, clocking in for others, flexible scheduling, and their need to meet the deadlines and how it directly impacts their jobs in a positive manner.

Helping your employees feel like they are part of the team is the best way to keep time theft under control while management does their part.

Time Theft Laws to Look Out For

time theft laws to look out for 1602806721 2676

When you discover this happening in your company it often leaves the owners wondering what can be done about it. If you become aware of an employee that is wasting too much time at work, you must first understand that it is costing your business money. There are laws in place to protect companies, depending on what is happening.


Employers are required to pay for hours worked by the employee. If an employer does not pay for hours worked, the employee can file suit against the employer for two times their back wage, including attorney fees and court costs.

Alternately, if an employee is paid for hours they do not work, criminal laws exist that cover time theft that may allow the employer to recover their losses.

For example, when a contractor or employee intentionally lies about their work, embezzles, steals, purloins, converts with or without authority, sells, conveys, or disposes of any record, voucher, or any other property which owned by the company or was made under the contract, they may be prosecuted under criminal law.
Then, there's wire fraud. Wire fraud is a serious crime defined as a scheme or attempt to defraud or obtain property by false or fraudulent means, representations, or promises by using interstate wire or radio communications execute the scheme.

Both of these laws (18 USC 641 and 18 USC 1343) are federal statutes. However, states also have criminal laws that can be used as well. Employees who are found guilty of time theft could face fines, be ordered to repay the wages they received or face imprisonment depending on the laws in your state.

If you look at the impact of time theft on business, the statistics are surprising. The American Society of Employers reported that 20% of every single dollar earned is lost to employee theft in the United States.
Other studies have shown costs over $400 billion is lost annually in productivity. All of this is done by employees stealing around 4.5 hours per week from their employers.

That's over a half-day of productivity lost. This highlights the importance of better management techniques needs to minimize time theft by employees.

Conclusion

Time theft is a serious and expensive problem faced by companies in the United States-

  • Also known as time card fraud or time and attendance fraud, it can include many activities including using personal technology on company time, buddy punching, extended break times, and abusing flexible schedules.
  • Time theft laws are part of our criminal laws.
  • Time theft costs businesses productivity and money- up to 20% of every dollar made.